Attend a Free Emergency Preparedness Workshop

VICTORIA, BC — The recent late-night earthquake near Victoria is a reminder that an earthquake can happen at any time. Victoria has a one in three probability of experiencing a damaging earthquake in the next 50 years, and your family needs to be prepared with enough food, water, medication and supplies to cope up to seven days without outside assistance.

Make emergency preparedness your family’s New Year resolution. Register to attend a free workshop to learn about the hazards that can affect Victoria, what to include in your home emergency kit, what you can do to minimize injury and protect your home from an earthquake, and how to reunite with loved ones after a disaster. An emergency kit will also come in handy in the event of a power outage or winter storm.

Free Emergency Preparedness Workshops in 2016 will be held on:

Wednesday, January 13 10 a.m. – Noon Victoria City Hall, Douglas Street and Pandora Avenue

Tuesday, January 19 7 p.m. – 9 p.m. Cook Street Village Activity Centre, 380 Cook Street

Wednesday, February 17 7 p.m. – 9 p.m. James Bay New Horizons, 234 Menzies Street

Wednesday, February 24 10 a.m. – Noon Victoria City Hall, Douglas Street and Pandora Avenue

Monday, March 21 1 p.m. – 3 p.m. Victoria City Hall, Douglas Street and Pandora Avenue

Wednesday, March 23 7 p.m. – 9 p.m. Oaklands Community Centre, 2827 Belmont Avenue

Tuesday, April 5 7 p.m. – 9 p.m. Fairfield Community Association, 1335 Thurlow Road (portable)

Tuesday, April 19 10 a.m. – Noon Victoria City Hall, Douglas Street and Pandora Avenue

Tuesday, May 10 7 p.m. – 9 p.m. Burnside Gorge Community Centre, 471 Cecelia Road

Wednesday, May 11 10 a.m. – Noon Greater Victoria Public Library, 735 Broughton Street

Monday, September 19 1 p.m. – 3 p.m. Victoria City Hall, Douglas Street and Pandora Avenue

Thursday, September 22 7 p.m. – 9 p.m. Victoria West Community Centre, 521 Craigflower Road

Tuesday, October 18 10 a.m. – Noon Victoria City Hall, Douglas Street and Pandora Avenue

Thursday, October 20 7 p.m. – 9 p.m. Cook Street Village Activity Centre, 380 Cook Street

Tuesday, November 15 1 p.m. – 3 p.m. Victoria City Hall, Douglas Street and Pandora Avenue

Wednesday, November 23 7 p.m. – 9 p.m. James Bay New Horizons, 234 Menzies Street


To register for a free Emergency Preparedness Workshop, email vema@victoria.ca or call 250.920.3373.

· For information on what to include in your family, pet or business emergency kits, check out the Recipe for Disaster series at www.PrepareVictoria.ca.

· On social media, follow @PreparedBC for helpful emergency preparedness tips and “Like” the Victoria Emergency Management Agency on Facebook.

· During an emergency follow @EmergencyInfoBC for alerts and updates.

· Only call 911 for life safety issues.

For More Information:
Kulpreet Munde
Deputy Emergency Coordinator
Victoria Emergency Management Agency
Office: 250.920.3377
Cell: 250.889.1448

About the Author:

President of the FCA since 2006.